BOARD OF INVESTMENT TRUSTEES MONTGOMERY COUNTY EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM

MINUTES - OPEN SESSION

Friday, July 22, 2022

Board Members Present: Joseph Beach

Jeff Buddle

James Donaldson Barry Kaplan Christine Kelleher Marlene Michaelson Deborah Snead

Brian Swain Gino Renne Jennifer Bryant

Staff: Kevin Killeavy

Marc Esen

John Feketekuty Darrin Arbaugh Ben Merrill Ben Holthus Min Tang Priti Mehta

Others Present: Benjamin Legum, Office of the County Attorney

Brad Atkins, Franklin Park Melanie Fraind, Franklin Park

Ron Mayer, Albourne Sam Blouin, Albourne Margaret Belmondo, NEPC

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Buddle called the open session of the Board meeting to order at 10:35 a.m.

<u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>: Mr. Beach moved, and Mr. Swain seconded, and the Board approved the items listed on the Consent Agenda.

DETERMINATION OF MEETING

The Board unanimously approved a motion to move into closed session at 10:36 a.m. for the purpose of discussing the investment of public funds, pursuant to Maryland Code, General Provisions Article, 3-305(b)(5).

The Board moved back into open session at 11:19 a.m.

<u>Annual Report – Sudan</u>: Mr. Merrill presented the annual report to the County Council on Sudan related investments, which is required by law. Mr. Kaplan moved, and Mr. Renne seconded, and the Board unanimously approved transmitting the report to the County Council.

Emerging Managers Annual Reporting: Mr. Arbaugh provided background on the emerging manager legislation and presented the emerging manager report. Mr. Renne moved, and Mr. Kaplan seconded, and the Board unanimously approved transmitting the report to the County Council.

Annual Review Proxy Voting: Ms. Mehta provided background on the annual review of proxy voting.

<u>Election of Officers and Compliance and Audit Committee Members:</u> Pursuant to the Board's By-Laws, and after discussion, Mr. Renne moved, and Mr. Donaldson seconded, and the Board approved electing Ms. Michaelson as Vice Chair.

There being no further business of the Board, the open meeting session adjourned at 11:27 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Deborah Snead, Secretary

Deborah Snead